Economics Department

People


                
                Photo of 
                
                Hunt Allcott, Associate Professor
212.998.8900
hunt.allcott@nyu.edu

Environmental Economics, Development Economics, Applied Econometrics, and Industrial Organization

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Jess Benhabib, Professor
212.998.8971
jess.benhabib@nyu.edu

macroeconomics, growth.

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Maharukh Bhiladwall, Clinical Professor
mb3326@nyu.edu

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Alberto Bisin, Professor
212.998.8916
alberto.bisin@nyu.edu

General equilibrium theory, finance, cultural evolution.

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Jaroslav Borovicka, Assistant Professor
212.998.8963
jaroslav.borovicka@nyu.edu

Macroeconomics and asset pricing

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Katarina Borovickova, Assistant Professor
212.998.8938
katarina.borovickova@nyu.edu

Macroeconomics and Labor Economics

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Andrew Caplin, Professor
212.998.8950
andrew.caplin@nyu.edu

Economic fluctuations,Macroeconomic Theory, microeconomic theory, housing market.

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                David Cesarini, Associate Professor
212.998.3773
david.cesarini@nyu.edu

Behavioral Economics, Applied Microeconomics, Experimental Economics

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Sylvain Chassang, Professor
chassang@nyu.edu

Microeconomics, Experiment Design, Development, Industrial Organization, Political Economy, and Finance

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Timothy Christensen, Assistant Professor
212.998.8941
timothy.christensen@nyu.edu

Theoretical and Applied Econometrics

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Tim Cogley, Professor
212-992-8679
tim.cogley@nyu.edu

Macroeconomics, Econometrics

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                William Easterly, Professor; Co-Director of the Development Research Institute
212.992.8684
william.easterly@nyu.edu

Long-run growth and development, Political Economy

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Xiaochen Fan, Clinical Assistant Professor
212.998.8452
xiaochen.fan@nyu.edu

Political economy, applied microeconomics, law and economics

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Ernst Fehr, Global Distinguished Professor
ernst.fehr@nyu.edu

Experimental, Behavioral and Neuroeconomics

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Raquel Fernandez, Professor
212.998.8908
raquel.fernandez@nyu.edu

International economics, education and income distribution, political economy.

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Christopher J. Flinn, Professor
212.998.8925
christopher.flinn@nyu.edu

Labor and Household Economics, Econometrics

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Guillaume Frechette, Professor
212.992.8683
guillaume.frechette@nyu.edu

Experimental Economics, Industrial Organization, Political Economy, Public Economics.

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Roman Frydman, Professor
212.998.8967
roman.frydman@nyu.edu

Imperfect Knowledge and Economic Theory, Modeling Financial Markets, Macroeconomics, Corporate Governance and Economic Dynamism: A Comparative Perspective

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Douglas Gale, Professor
212.998.8944
douglas.gale@nyu.edu

Economics of finance, money and banking; general equilibrium theory; bounded rationality.

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Alfred Galichon, Associate Professor
212.998.8900
ag133@nyu.edu

Econometrics, Economic theory, Quantitative Finance, Data Science

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Mark Gertler, Professor
212.998.8931
mark.gertler@nyu.edu

Macroeconomic theory, monetary economics, finance.

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Danilo Guaitoli, Visiting Clinical Assistant Professor
212-998-8900
danilo.guaitoli@nyu.edu

Macroeconomic Theory, Microeconomic Theory

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                David Harper, Clinical Professor; Director of Graduate Studies (M.A. Program)
212.998.8959
david.harper@nyu.edu

Institutional economics, Austrian economics, Entrepreneurship, Economic Development

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Boyan Jovanovic, Professor
212.998.8953
boyan.jovanovic@nyu.edu

Macroeconomics, industrial organization.

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Ricardo Lagos, Professor
212.998.8937
ricardo.lagos@nyu.edu

Macroeconomics, Labor Economics, Monetary Economics, Search Theory.

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                John Lazarev , Assistant Professor
212.998.8423
Industrial Organization, Applied Microeconomics, Applied Econometrics

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Marc Lieberman, Clinical Professor
212.998.8929
marc.lieberman@nyu.edu

Labor Economics, Macroeconomics, International Finance.

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Alessandro Lizzeri, Professor
212.998.8907
alessandro.lizzeri@nyu.edu

Industrial Organization, Political Economy, Microeconomic Theory

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Lars Ljungqvist, Global Distinguished Professor
ll55@nyu.edu

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Sydney C Ludvigson, Professor
212.998.8927
sydney.ludvigson@nyu.edu

Financial Economics, Macroeconomics, Applied Time Series Econometrics.

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Erik Madsen, Assistant Professor
emadsen@nyu.edu

Incentive Contracting, Dynamic Games, and Industrial Organization

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Laurent Mathevet, Assistant Professor
212.998.8934
lmath@nyu.edu

Game theory

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Gerald  McIntyre, Clinical Associate Professor
gmm6@nyu.edu

Economic Growth, Macroeconomics, & International Finance

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Konrad Menzel, Associate Professor
konrad.menzel@nyu.edu

Econometrics, Labor Economics.

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Virgiliu Midrigan, Professor
(212) 992-8081
virgiliu.midrigan@nyu.edu

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                M. Ishaq Nadiri, Professor
212.998.8968
m.ishaq.nadiri@nyu.edu

Economics of technology, productivity and economic growth, investment theory and modeling.

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Yaw Nyarko, Professor; Co-Director of the Development Research Institute
212.998.8928
yaw.nyarko@nyu.edu

Game Theory, Human Capital and Economic Growth

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Efe Ok, Professor
212.998.8920
efe.ok@nyu.edu

Decision Theory, Game Theory, Applied Functional Analysis

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Andrew Paizis, Clinical Associate Professor
212.998.3653
andrew.paizis@nyu.edu

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Mikhail  Panov, Assistant Professor
212.998.8900
panov@nyu.edu

Microeconomics, bargaining, and foundational game theory

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                David Pearce, Professor
212.992.8779
david.pearce@nyu.edu

Repeated Games, Noncooperative Solution Concepts, Bargaining and Bounded Rationality.

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Diego Perez, Assistant Professor
212.998.8951
diego.perez@nyu.edu

Macroeconomics, international finance

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Jonas Prager, Associate Professor
212.998.8911
jonas.prager@nyu.edu

Privatization, banking regulation.

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Debraj Ray, Professor
debraj.ray@nyu.edu

Development economics, microeconomic theory, game theory, Income Distribution, Inequality and Polarization, Coalition Formation in Games

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Mario J Rizzo, Associate Professor
212.998.8932
mario.rizzo@nyu.edu

Austrian economics, law and economics, ethics and economics, behavioral economics and paternalism

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Martin Rotemberg, Assistant Professor
(212) 998-8926
mrotemberg@nyu.edu

Development and Growth

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Ariel Rubinstein, Professor
rariel@post.tau.ac.il

Economic Theory, Game Theory, Decision Theory.

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Thomas Sargent, Professor
212.998.3548
thomas.sargent@nyu.edu

Macroeconomics, monetary economics, and applied time series analysis.

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Edouard Schaal, Assistant Professor
212.998.8926
edouard.schaal@nyu.edu

Macroeconomics and labor markets

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Andrew Schotter, Professor
212.998.8952
andrew.schotter@nyu.edu

Experimental economics, game theory, theory of economic institutions, Microeconomics

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Ennio Stacchetti, Professor
212.998.8964
ennio.stacchetti@nyu.edu

Game theory and economic theory.

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Karl Storchmann , Clinical Professor
karl.storchmann@nyu.edu

Energy and Transportation Economics, Environmental Economics, Wine Economics

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Kevin Thom, Clinical Associate Professor
212.998.8960
kevin.thom@nyu.edu

Labor Economics, Development Economics and Applied Microeconometrics

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Gianluca Violante, Professor
212.992.9771
gianluca.violante@nyu.edu

Macroeconomics, Labor Economics

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Quang  Vuong, Professor
212.998.8947
Theoretical and Applied Econometrics

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Basil Williams, Assistant Professor
212.998.8900
basil.williams@nyu.edu

Financial economics, Corporate Theory, Game theory

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Charles A. Wilson, Professor
charles.wilson@nyu.edu

Economic theory, game theory, decision theory, experimental economics.

 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Edward Nathan Wolff, Professor
212.998.8917
edward.wolff@nyu.edu

Distribution of income and wealth, productivity growth, input-output analysis.

 

Affiliated Faculty

David Denoon, Professor
Department of Politics
 
Jon Eguia, Assistant Professor
Department of Politics
 
Jonathan Morduch, Professor
Wagner Graduate School of Public Service
 
Matteo Maggiori, Assistant Professor
Stern School of Business
 
Paul W. Glimcher, Professor
Department of Neural Science
 
Adam Przeworski, Professor
Department of Politics
 
Pablo Querubin, Assistant Professor
Department of Politics
 

Emeritus Faculty

Israel M. Kirzner
Ph.D. New York University
Professor of Economics; Economics of Entrepreneurship, Austrian Economics, Ethics and Economics, History of Economic Thought.

Dermot Gately
Ph.D. 1971 (economics), Princeton; B.S. 1965 (mathematics), Holy Cross College.
Professor of Economics; Applied microeconomics, energy economics.

James Ramsey
Ph.D. 1968 (economics), M.A. 1964 (economics), Wisconsin (Madison); B.A. 1963 (mathematics and economics), British Columbia.
Professor of Economics; Nonlinear dynamics, stochastic processes, wavelets, and functional data analysis.