Economics Department

People


                
                Photo of 
                
                Hunt Allcott, Assistant Professor
212.998.8900
hunt.allcott@nyu.edu

Energy and Environmental Economics, Industrial Organization, Behavioral Economics, Development Economics
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Jess Benhabib, Professor
212.998.8971
jess.benhabib@nyu.edu

macroeconomics, growth.
 
Maharukh Bhiladwall, Clinical Professor
mb3326@nyu.edu
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Alberto Bisin, Professor
212.998.8916
alberto.bisin@nyu.edu

General equilibrium theory, finance, cultural evolution.
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Jaroslav Borovicka, Assistant Professor
212.998.8963
jaroslav.borovicka@nyu.edu

Macroeconomics and asset pricing
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Katarina Borovickova, Assistant Professor
212.998.8938
katarina.borovickova@nyu.edu

Macroeconomics and Labor Economics
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Andrew Caplin, Professor
212.998.8950
andrew.caplin@nyu.edu

Economic fluctuations,Macroeconomic Theory, microeconomic theory, housing market.
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                David Cesarini, Assistant Professor
212.998.3773
david.cesarini@nyu.edu

Behavioral Economics, Applied Microeconomics, Experimental Economics
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Timothy Christensen, Assistant Professor
212.998.8941
timothy.christensen@nyu.edu
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Tim Cogley, Professor
212-992-8679
tim.cogley@nyu.edu

Macroeconomics, Econometrics
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                William Easterly, Professor; Co-Director of the Development Research Institute
212.992.8684
william.easterly@nyu.edu

Long-run growth and development, Political Economy
 
Xiaochen Fan, Clinical Assistant Professor
212.998.8452
xiaochen.fan@nyu.edu

Political economy, applied microeconomics, law and economics
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Raquel Fernandez, Professor
212.998.8908
raquel.fernandez@nyu.edu

International economics, education and income distribution, political economy.
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Christopher J. Flinn, Professor
212.998.8925
christopher.flinn@nyu.edu

Labor and Household Economics, Econometrics
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Guillaume Frechette, Associate Professor
212.992.8683
guillaume.frechette@nyu.edu

Experimental Economics, Industrial Organization, Political Economy, Public Economics.
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Roman Frydman, Professor
212.998.8967
roman.frydman@nyu.edu

Imperfect Knowledge and Economic Theory, Modeling Financial Markets, Macroeconomics, Corporate Governance and Economic Dynamism: A Comparative Perspective
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Douglas Gale, Professor
212.998.8944
douglas.gale@nyu.edu

Economics of finance, money and banking; general equilibrium theory; bounded rationality.
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Dermot Gately, Professor Emeritus
212.998.8955
dermot.gately@nyu.edu

Applied microeconomics, energy economics.
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Mark Gertler, Professor
212.998.8931
mark.gertler@nyu.edu

Macroeconomic theory, monetary economics, finance.
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                David Harper, Clinical Professor; Director of Graduate Studies (M.A. Program)
212.998.8959
david.harper@nyu.edu

Institutional economics, Austrian economics, Entrepreneurship, Economic Development
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Nazgul Jenish, Assistant Professor
212.998.3891
nazgul.jenish@nyu.edu

Theoretical and Applied Econometrics
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Boyan Jovanovic, Professor
212.998.8953
boyan.jovanovic@nyu.edu

Macroeconomics, industrial organization.
 
Harilaos Kitsikopoulos, Clinical Professor
212.998.3659
harilaos.kitsikopoulos@nyu.edu

Economic History with a special interest in technological change, History of Economic Thought.
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Ricardo Lagos, Professor
212.998.8937
ricardo.lagos@nyu.edu

Macroeconomics, Labor Economics, Monetary Economics, Search Theory.
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                John Lazarev , Assistant Professor
212.998.8423
Industrial Organization, Applied Microeconomics, Applied Econometrics
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                John Leahy, Professor
212.992.9770
john.leahy@nyu.edu

Macroeconomics, behavioral economics, economic theory.
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Marc Lieberman, Clinical Professor
212.998.8929
marc.lieberman@nyu.edu

Labor Economics, Macroeconomics, International Finance.
 
Ilse Lindenlaub, Assistant Professor
212.998.8955
il532@nyu.edu

Macro/Labor, Theory, Social Networks
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Alessandro Lizzeri, Professor
212.998.8907
alessandro.lizzeri@nyu.edu

Industrial Organization, Political Economy, Microeconomic Theory
 
Lars Ljungqvist, Global Distinguished Professor
ll55@nyu.edu
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Sydney C Ludvigson, Professor
212.998.8927
sydney.ludvigson@nyu.edu

Financial Economics, Macroeconomics, Applied Time Series Econometrics.
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Laurent Mathevet, Assistant Professor
212.998.8934
lmath@nyu.edu

Game theory
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Konrad Menzel, Assistant Professor
konrad.menzel@nyu.edu

Econometrics, Labor Economics.
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Virgiliu Midrigan, Associate Professor
(212) 992-8081
virgiliu.midrigan@nyu.edu
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                José Luis Montiel Olea, Assistant Professor
212.998.8900
montiel.olea@nyu.edu

Econometrics
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                M. Ishaq Nadiri, Professor
212.998.8968
m.ishaq.nadiri@nyu.edu

Economics of technology, productivity and economic growth, investment theory and modeling.
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Yaw Nyarko, Professor; Co-Director of the Development Research Institute
212.998.8928
yaw.nyarko@nyu.edu

Game Theory, Human Capital and Economic Growth
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Efe Ok, Professor
212.998.8920
efe.ok@nyu.edu

Decision Theory, Game Theory, Applied Functional Analysis
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Janusz A. Ordover, Professor
212.998.8956
janusz.ordover@nyu.edu

Industrial organization, antitrust economics and policy, applied microeconomics.
 
Andrew Paizis, Clinical Associate Professor
212.998.3653
andrew.paizis@nyu.edu
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                David Pearce, Professor
212.992.8667
david.pearce@nyu.edu

Repeated Games, Noncooperative Solution Concepts, Bargaining and Bounded Rationality.
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Jonas Prager, Associate Professor
212.998.8911
jonas.prager@nyu.edu

Privatization, banking regulation.
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                James Ramsey, Professor Emeritus
212.998.8947
james.ramsey@nyu.edu

Nonlinear dynamics, stochastic processes, wavelets, and functional data analysis.
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Debraj Ray, Professor
debraj.ray@nyu.edu

Development economics, microeconomic theory, game theory, Income Distribution, Inequality and Polarization, Coalition Formation in Games
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Mario J Rizzo, Associate Professor
212.998.8932
mario.rizzo@nyu.edu

Austrian economics, law and economics, ethics and economics, behavioral economics and paternalism
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Ariel Rubinstein, Professor
rariel@post.tau.ac.il

Economic Theory, Game Theory, Decision Theory.
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Thomas Sargent, Professor
212.998.3548
thomas.sargent@nyu.edu

Macroeconomics, monetary economics, and applied time series analysis.
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Edouard Schaal, Assistant Professor
212.998.8926
edouard.schaal@nyu.edu

Macroeconomics and labor markets
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Andrew Schotter, Professor
212.998.8952
andrew.schotter@nyu.edu

Experimental economics, game theory, theory of economic institutions, Microeconomics
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Ennio Stacchetti, Professor
212.998.8964
ennio.stacchetti@nyu.edu

Game theory and economic theory.
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Karl Storchmann , Clinical Professor
karl.storchmann@nyu.edu

Energy and Transportation Economics, Environmental Economics, Wine Economics
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Aditi Thapar, Clinical Assistant Professor; Associate Director of Undergraduate Studies
212.998.8898
aditi.thapar@nyu.edu

Macroeconomics, Monetary Economics, Applied Econometrics.
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Kevin Thom, Assistant Professor
212.998.8960
kevin.thom@nyu.edu

Labor Economics, Development Economics and Applied Microeconometrics
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Gianluca Violante, Professor
212.992.9771
gianluca.violante@nyu.edu

Macroeconomics, Labor Economics
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Quang  Vuong, Professor
212.998.8941
Theoretical and Applied Econometrics
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Ed Vytlacil, Professor
212.992.8682
ev28@nyu.edu

Econometrics
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Charles A. Wilson, Professor
charles.wilson@nyu.edu

Economic theory, game theory, decision theory, experimental economics.
 

                
                Photo of 
                
                Edward Nathan Wolff, Professor
212.998.8917
edward.wolff@nyu.edu

Distribution of income and wealth, productivity growth, input-output analysis.
 

Affiliated Faculty

David Denoon, Professor
Department of Politics
 
Jon Eguia, Assistant Professor
Department of Politics
 
Jonathan Morduch, Professor
Wagner Graduate School of Public Service
 
Matteo Maggiori, Assistant Professor
Stern School of Business
 
Oeindrila Dube, Assistant Professor
Department of Politics
 
Paul W. Glimcher, Professor
Department of Neural Science
 
Adam Przeworski, Professor
Department of Politics
 
Pablo Querubin, Assistant Professor
Department of Politics
 

Emeritus Faculty

Israel M. Kirzner
Ph.D. New York University
Professor of Economics; Economics of Entrepreneurship, Austrian Economics, Ethics and Economics, History of Economic Thought.